I Love My Job – Reason #1

I often Tweet and Facebook-Status-Update (they need a shorter name for that) about how much I love my job.  I decided that it’s about time I started explaining some of the reasons why.  So starting today, in no particular order, here they are.

First, for anyone reading who knows nothing about me or what I do:  I am a nursing assistant in an outpatient Cancer Clinic associated with a large cancer hospital/research center.  The clinic I am in specalizes in GI cancers (colon, pancreatic, liver, gastric, rectal, etc).  These cancers tend to go undetected for a long time, so it “could” be a very sad place to work.  But … it is not.

Reason #1 I Love My Job:  My Patients

We have the best patients in the world.  Ever.  I mean it.  These wonderful people are dealing with one of the worst things that a person should have to deal with.  Cancer in general – sucks.  Sucks big, giant donkey nut-sacks.  I lost my father to cancer.  My mother-in-law currently has cancer.  It really sucks a lot.  

However, the patients I see daily are for the most part the most positive people I know.  They are all heroes to me.  Every last one.  I enjoy coming here every day to see them.  Because of the nature of cancer and treatment, we see them on a regular basis.  Weekly or every other week, every four weeks at the longest usually.  I know them.  They know me.  We talk about our lives, our families, our problems.  They are like family to me.  They ask me how my son’s concert went.  I ask them if they did well hunting over the weekend.  We know each other on a level much greater than that of, say, my dentist or my family doctor.  We spend what I like to think of as quality time together.  We laugh together and we cry together.  We give hugs and share inappropriate jokes.  I see them at their best and at their worse.  They make my life better and cause me to feel as if I am doing something that matters.  I love them all – each and every one.  They make it a joy to come to work every day and if I have to be off … I miss them tremendously. 

My patients are strong, positive, amazing people and that is why I love my job.

Leave a Reply

