Awe-Someness

I found a book about a year or so ago called:  The Awe-Manac: A Daily Dose of Wonder, by Jill Badonsky.  It is a journal of sorts but offers daily quotes and other very general information and provides prompts and ideas for expressing creativity in a variety of ways.  I love it but have not used it nearly as much as I would have liked.  So one of my goals for this summer, before classes start again and I lose all my free time, is to get into a habit of doing some writing at least several times a week.  I’m hoping that I can use the Awe-Manac to help with that.  So here goes.

** Note:  Here is kind of how it works.  Each day has a blank space to be named, whatever you want to name it.  There will be a quote or two, an Awe-Servance or two of some kind and some other prompts and journaling ideas and starting off points.  Because if you don’t have the book in front of you, you have no idea what the frack I am talking about.  🙂

** Also – going forward – I will probably just title these posts with the date and whatever I choose to name that particular day.  Sometimes it will be clever and witty and others (like today) it will be lame.  Tough cookies … they are my days to name!  🙂

July 17:  Lazy Day

The hours of folly are measured by the clock, but of wisdom no clock can measure  ~ William Blake

Happy Birthday to Phillis Diller and Phoebe Snow.  Apparently it is also the Feast of the Clockless Now Ever, whatever the heck that is.

Journal Juju for today: Pick a certain time of your life, past or present, and write some wisdom it would like to impart to you.

I would have to go to …. well …. right now I guess.  The wisdom I would like to impart to the past me and future me would have something to do with “letting go.”  Of stress and worry and all of the other millions of things that I have absolutely  no personal and ultimate control over.  Take a moment to stop and breathe every day.  Take several.  This is my life and as corny as it sounds, it is what it is.  All I can do is go along for the ride and make the best of what comes at me.  I certainly can’t make something happen that isn’t supposed to.

And the final thing from today’s page … some interesting information that I will have to try very soon:  “Tapping the shoulders can release endorphins, the body’s anti-aging, feel good chemicals.” If you need me, I’ll be sitting here … tapping my shoulders and thinking of happy, worry and stress free days.  Days of sunshine and wildflowers.

Leave a Reply

